Marakeli – The Making of a Science-Art Performance Piece (in several parts)

The best place to start the story is a misty canal near the intersection of Maroa and Fedora in Fresno – early 2001. Ian Nance and I, full of lemongrass-flavored green tea, were pretending to be gentleman scientists, speaking ridiculous posh faux-scientific language in bad British accents. I had seen a muskrat swimming in the canal on my way to school, and made plans to investigate further. I brought a sketchbook along and made notes. We didn’t see the “Muskie,” as I called it, that morning, although we did find his den. Then we went home and spent the rest of the morning talking about Kenneth Rexroth’s poem, “On What Planet,” and Frank Black’s music. I didn’t realize it, but this experience, midway between science and performance, set the stage for my investigations into the borders of the fields when I was accepted into the Experimental Performance Institute at the New College of California and began work on my Master’s Thesis.

About aquaticbiology

I'm a person from the San Francisco Bay Area. I like reading, the movies, my family, and biology. I think the science blogosphere is really fantastic and this is my blog about aquatic biology and the life sciences - along with digressions into science-art and commentary. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

